Principal, Vetland Junior Grammar School, Agege, Mr. Olatunde Adetolu , has received the Overall Best School Administrator (Junior Secondary School category), for 2012 in Nigeria. The award was presented at the 2012 President’s Teachers and Schools Excellence Award, organized by the Federal Ministry of Education, Abuja.
Mr. Olatunde, a Prince by birth and presenter by inspiration, was born in the late 50’s in Ikare, Akoko land. His Academic career spans Victory College, Ikare, for his West African School Certificate, College of Education, Ikare, for his National Certificate of Education and University of Benin for his Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry. He later proceeded to the Lagos State University for his Masters of Business Administration, specializing in Human Resources, to support his managerial and leadership position as school Principal.
He started his teaching career as a Chemistry teacher in 1985 at Amuwo Odofin High School, Mile 2 and rose to the post of Senior Tutor. In 1994, he was deployed to Government Secondary School, Otto- Ijanikin as the Vice Principal Academics. In 1999, he was deployed to Lagos State Model College, Meran as Vice Principal, Administration and in 2003 became the pioneer Principal of Ijaiye Ojokoro Junior High School, where within the shortest possible time, he transformed the school. In October 2006, Mr. Olatunde was moved to Akinyele Alakuko Junior Secondary School, where he worked tirelessly to put the school on a proper footing. He was deployed Vetland Junior Grammar School in 2011, where he became the Overall Best Principal Junior School, throughout the federation. The school also clinched Overall Best Junior School award in Education District 1, Agege, as well as produce the Second Best Vice Principal, Third Best Head of Department and the Overall Best Teacher in the District.
Before the Presidential Award in Abuja, Olatunde had won the overall Best Principal Junior Category, Education District 1, 2011 Merit Award; Overall Best Principal

Junior category, Lagos State 2011 Merit Award; Second Best Principal Junior School, Education district 1, 2007 Merit Award; Second Best Principal Junior School 2009 Merit Award; Third Best Principal Junior School 2010 Merit Award; Merit Award by Ikare Club in recognition of educational programmes initiated and implemented by him in the town; Pillar of Excellence Award by the Institute of Natural and Human Resources for managerial achievement in 2011; Merit Award by ANCOPSS Ifako-Ijaiye zone, in recognition of his effective service delivery as Zonal Secretary in September 2011; Alakuko Community Development Association Merit Award in December 2011, for being an efficient pioneer Principal of their school and Distinguished Merit Award by African Youth Society in October, 2011 for his notable youth development and empowerment programmes.
A member of numerous professional bodies, as Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria; Nigeria Union of Teachers; Science Teachers Association of Nigeria; Vice President, All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS); Nigeria Institute for Training and Development; Nigeria Institute of Human and Natural Resources; Nigeria Institute of Management; Chartered Institute of Personnel Management of Nigeria; Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria; British Project Professional and 1st Vice President and Scout Association of Nigeria, Ojokoro.
Commenting on the presidential award, Mr. Olatunde said, ”I thank God for the excellent performance at Abuja. The committee set up at Abuja looked at our past records, leadership role, and our creativity. When I got to my school, I didn’t like the infrastructure in the school and I took it upon myself to renovate seven blocks of classrooms within the little resources at my disposal.” He said his guiding principle was coined out of the name of the school, VETLAND . V for visionary, E for excellence, T for tenacity, L for leadership, A for assiduous, N for neatness and the D for discipline.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *