The Ondo State Football Association has held elections into its local council offices ahead of the board election scheduled to hold on March 10, this year.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) , reports that candidates were elected into positions of football administration in the 17 council areas of the state.

Election in Ilaje local council could not be decided , as football stakeholders from the council area could not agree on the delegates list.

Those elected and their local councils , are former Chairman of the FA, Otunba Dele Ajayi (Akure North), Abayomi Ogunlade (Akure south), Olagunju Isaac (Ifedore), former Vice Chairman, Cornelius Ologbese (Akoko South west), Abiodun Mohammed (Akoko North East), and Gabriel Oloye (Akoko North West).

Others are Gabriel Aborowa (Ose), Tokunbo Akintelure (Idanre), Akinfolarin Akinbobola (Ondo West), Iluyomade Awosakin (Ondo East), Akinyele Olowokere (Akoko South East), Henry Akingboju (Irele), Sunkanmi Kukoyi (Ese Odo), Babatunde Igbasan (Okitipupa) and Oladimeji Abiola (Osogbo).

 Chairman , Electoral Committee, Mr Steve Alabi, disclosed that the Ilaje local football council election had been postponed indefinitely due to differences amongst   contestants.

Alabi, a former President ,  Sports Writers Association (SWAN), noted that the local football council election was free, fair and credible, assuring that more would be done to make the next election into positions of Executive Committee of the Football Association peaceful and hitch free.

Observers at the election,  Mrs Evelyn Lebi from the Ministry of Youth and Sports, and representative of the Ondo State Sports Council, Babatunde Henry,  expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the elections, as they described the exercise as a peaceful and credible electoral process.

One of the elected Chairmen, Gabriel Aborowa from Ose local government council, said he would do more to develop football at the grassroots and engage private investors to develop the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *