Hon Taofeeq Arapaja, a candidate of Oyo State Governor,  Seyi Makinde,  recently defeated Ondo State’s candidate for the  Peoples Democratic Party  ( PDP ), Southwest Zonal Chairmanship seat and candidate of former Ekiti State Governor,  Ayo Fayose, Dr. Eddy Olafeso, in a keenly contested election held in Ibadan, Oyo State capital.

By the victory,  he was returned as the South-West Zonal Chairman of the party.

Olafeso had been tipped to win the election because of the strong support of Ayo Fayose and Ondo State.

The former SouthWest Vice Chairman had campaigned vigorously for the election,  traversing the entire southwest states drumming support for his candidacy.

 Dr. Eddy Olafeso, who expressed confidence of victory at the Zonal congress, because he had the support of party leaders in Southwest states,  had campaigned vigorously to unite the fragile party.

According to him, the party needs unity at this crucial time and he was ready to do all it takes to bring back the glory of the party.

He said he has visited all the state chapters of the party, and promised to use his experience to serve the party like he did during his first term in office.

The former State Commissioner for Information, also disclosed that leaders and members of the party across the six states of the South West region, were solidly behind him.

“I have won. With what we saw in Osun which has already been replicated in Lagos, Ogun, Ekiti, Ondo and even Oyo States, it is very clear that the delegates and all other relevant stakeholders are solidly behind us”.

“Engineer Deji Doherty of Lagos, Hon. Sikirulai Ogundele of Ogun, Hon. Sunday Bisi of Osun and all others are solidly behind us “.

Other elected South West officers of the party are;

Secretary – Chief Rahaman Owokoniran

Treasurer- Mr Samson Omotoyosi

Org/Sec- Barr Amuwa Benson

Pub/Sec- Chief Olusanya Atofarati

Fin/Sec- Adewoyin Rasaq Babarinde

Legal-Barr. Gbenga Kukoyi

Auditor- Adeola Adewumi

Others are; Women/L- Modinat Bosede Adedibu, Youth/L- Bamidele Seyi Abiola

Zonal Ex/Of- Adeola Santos

Zonal Ex/Of- Modupe Adetokunbo

Zonal Ex/Of- Araoye Sikiru

Zonal Ex/ Of- Olugbenga Idowu

Zonal Ex/Of- Segun Adewale Aeroland

Zonal Ex/Of- Lanre Fajuyi

Natl Ex/Of- Olakunle Paul

Natl Ex/Of-David Kolawole

Natl Ex-Of- Ogunrinde Emmanuel

Natl Ex- Faboyede Clement

Natl Ex- Taiwo Kabiru

Natl Ex- Oluwakemi Olayiwola.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *